Salad Creations and a Unique Tortilla Chip….

Posted: October 14, 2012 in Uncategorized

No, I am not referring to the restaurant Salad Creations, I am discussing my own “salad creations.” Just to clarify:) I have never actually been to a Salad Creations restaurant, but it is probably more expensive than my own homemade salads…As for the taste, I can’t really compare, of course! So here are a couple pictures of some of my “salad creations,” as well as some unique tortilla chips we got from Costco recently–they certainly fit right in with the season!

First, a salad with mixed greens, cooked brown rice, chickpeas, mustard, and nutritional yeast. It was quite delicious, and I highly recommend the combination–especially if you are a mustard lover like I am.

 

Next, a salad topped with this casserole and lots of mustard. I really need to find a new salad dressing obsession…Any ideas?:)

 

And now for the tortilla chips!

 

Not only do these chips contain pumpkin seeds, but they also have actual pumpkin added to them–giving the chips a delicious, subtle, sweet fall-ish flavor that contrasts with the saltiness. I definitely recommend these if you are looking for a change from the usual tortilla chip!

Finally, for a bit of “foodie inspiration,” I made my cocoa-cinnamon green smoothie this morning, but added a few pieces of this fudge (made with one-fourth a teaspoon of mint extract) to the mixture. It was SO delicious; it added extra creaminess as well as a  subtle minty flavor. Adding fudge to my green smoothies is definitely something that will be happening more often now…

Question:

What is the most unique chip or cracker you have ever tried?

Comments
  1. Yum the pumpkin chips sound fantastic! I tried making kale chips once but they turned out really gross haha

    • veggiedancer says:

      Yes, I thought they were quite delicious–though my parents didn’t like them at all! And kale chips can be difficult to make; plus, they are definitely an acquired taste:)

  2. The pumkin chips sound like heaven! Your salads are gorgeous, and I definitely am a mustard lover so will try out the mustard/nooch/chickpea combo! As for salad dressing ideas, I love my Goddess Dressing. http://moderngirlnutrition.wordpress.com/recipes/snacks-and-others/goddess-dressing/
    And Follow Your Heart’s Balsamic=perfection!

    • veggiedancer says:

      Thank you; I am glad you thought they looked good–especially since I didn’t think the pictures were great:) And your Goddess Dressing looks SO delicious; I will definitely be putting that on my “food-to-make” list!

Leave a Reply

