Artisana Product Review


So here is the product review I have been promising for a while now…I requested and was sent a “blogger package” from the Artisana company so that I could sample and review their products–which were delicious! Here is the list of what they sent me: One 8-ounce jar of raw organic coconut butter, one 8-ounce jar of raw organic cashew butter, 1 pouch (1.19 ounces) EACH of raw almond butter, raw cacao bliss coconut butter, raw cashew butter, raw coconut butter, raw macadamia butter, raw pecan butter, raw walnut butter, and raw coconut oil. And here are the pictures of the products…

First up was the raw cashew butter, which I used to top my oatmeal with (leaving some in the packet to eat plain, of course:). The verdict? It was SO delicious!! This was my first time trying cashew butter, and I was quite impressed. It was buttery and silky-smooth, with a slightly sweet and very rich flavor. It was also not super-sticky, as some nut butters can be. Because it wasn’t roasted, the taste was more “pure” than a roasted variety might have been. I am so glad they sent me a jar of this as well–how did they know I would like it so much?:D Here is a picture of my cashew butter-topped oatmeal…

Next was the raw almond butter, which I spread on top of blueberry pancakes. Unfortunately, the butter had clumped up somewhat in the sample pouch, so it was stiff in some areas, making it a bit difficult to spread:P But the taste was nice–simultaneously rich and light, with a strong almond flavor and a slightly grainy texture. It wasn’t as amazing as the cashew butter, but it was a nice change from the roasted Maranatha almond butter that I typically have. I would definitely consider buying this instead of the Maranatha brand–except that Costco only carries the Maranatha type so far, and that is the cheapest place to purchase almond butter…Here is the picture of the almond butter-topped pancakes–not a great photo.

Then was the Organic Raw Cacao Bliss–made up of coconut butter, coconut oil, agave nectar, cacao, and cacao butter. I put it on top of oatmeal and also saved some to eat plain. I think mixing it in with oatmeal was a mistake, as it diluted its flavor…But when I tasted it plain–wow, what a difference!! It was rich and creamy, and not TOO coconut-y, with a delicious and prominent chocolate flavor that wasn’t overshadowed by too much sweetener (the sample pouch only had 4 grams of sugar). I would definitely recommend spreading it on pancakes, toast, etc…instead of mixing it with oatmeal as I did:P Or, of course, eating it plain is highly recommended. Overall, it was somewhat like a healthy-yet-buttery, lower sugar, delicious vegan version of Nutella. Here is the picture of the Cacao Bliss-topped oatmeal…

The next sample I “tackled” was the raw pecan butter, which was actually a pecan/cashew blend. I spread it on top of my cocoa-cinnamon pancakes, and also tasted some straight out of the package. It was rich and slightly sweet, with a crunchy texture due to the bits of pecans (or cashews) scattered throughout. It had a strong pecan flavor, which I loved, and was fairly thick–which made it a bit difficult to spread on the pancakes, but this problem could probably be remedied by warming it up a bit in the microwave…Overall, I greatly enjoyed it, though people who dislike grainy/crunchy/textured nut butters may not like this flavor as much as, say, the cashew butter. Here is picture of my pecan butter-topped pancakes…

The macadamia nut butter (with cashews) was next; I put some on top of oatmeal and ate the rest straight out of the packet (one of the best ways to eat it!!). It was mild, rich, and somewhat sweet, with a crunchy texture due to the bits of nuts scattered throughout. It had a pure and pronounced macadamia flavor, and wasn’t super sticky. I think anyone who loves macadamia nuts would be a huge fan of this nut butter–and even if you are not, it may still be delicious:) I certainly thought it was tasty, even though macadamia nuts are not my favorite nuts. Here is a picture of my macadamia nut butter-topped oatmeal…

Next came the raw walnut butter–again with cashews added. I spread it on top of my cocoa cinnamon pancakes, and tasted some plain. It had a rich taste, a crunchy texture, and a strong walnut flavor. It did have that slightly bitter aftertaste that is often found in walnut butter (due to the tannin in the walnut “skin.”). So if you are not a fan of walnuts, you probably won’t be crazy about this walnut butter! But I happen to like walnuts, so I enjoyed this product. Still, it wasn’t my favorite nut butter, as I can only stand the bitterness for so long…But overall, I thought it was nice and “pure tasting,” and I recommend it for any walnut lovers out there:) Here is a picture of my walnut butter-topped pancakes…

Then it was on to the raw coconut butter–a product I had been dying to try for months, but had resisted buying because of the high price. Finally, a chance to sample some without paying a heavy cost! First I tried a bit out of the jar; as I have said before, I used to harbor a strong dislike for coconut, so I was a bit nervous about trying it. But I needn’t have worried–this stuff was AMAZING!! It was creamy, silky, super rich, and coconut-y, and I can imagine it would taste delicious on toast as a butter substitute. Then I decided to make this Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge recipe, using both the sample packet of coconut butter and a bit out of the sample jar (I am SO glad they sent me a jar of this as well as the sample pouch!!). Here are the changes I made to the original recipe: (1) I doubled it. (2) I omitted the salt. (3) I used almond butter in place of peanut butter. (4) I added a tablespoon of agave nectar.

And here is a picture of the combined ingredients ready to be processed…

The blended mixture…

The mixture spread into a greased cake pan…

The mixture after being frozen and sliced…

And a piece of fudge…

The fudge was SO delicious, and I am glad that I was finally able to make the recipe with the fantastic Artisana Raw Coconut Butter!! I highly recommend both this recipe and the product:)

The last product sampled was the coconut oil; I tasted a bit straight out of the package, just to get the pure flavor, but coconut oil doesn’t really have a strong flavor on its own. It is, however, great to bake with, or you could mix it in with oatmeal, smoothies, etc…to add healthy fats and a rich, buttery texture. It was nice and creamy in texture, similar to the coconut butter but with a much less pronounced coconut flavor. Thus, even if you don’t like coconut, you could probably use coconut oil in recipes (in small amounts) without detecting the taste. Here is a picture of the packet…

 

Note: I was sent these sample products free of charge in exchange for my review. No other compensation was given. All thoughts/comments expressed are solely my own opinion. 

And there you have it: a long and somewhat overly-detailed review of these delicious and unique Artisana products! I am just glad I still have some coconut butter and cashew butter left in my sample jars to savor for the next week or so (if they last that long…):D I highly recommend checking out their products; there is something for almost everyone:) Enjoy your weekend!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. moderngirlnutrition
    Sep 07, 2012 @ 20:50:05

    I love this brand! Great review- all of your descriptions are very in-depth. :) My favorite has to be the cashew butter- it spreads so easily and is so sweet! And I could definitely go for that fudge right now- I am a coconut fanatic!

    Reply

    • veggiedancer
      Sep 07, 2012 @ 20:55:43

      Haha, yeah, I love to write with tons of detail, so my descriptions tend to be–shall we say–long-winded at times:D And I agree that the cashew butter was one of my favorites; it was so smooth and sweet! Yes, the fudge is amazing; I have a feeling it will be gone within the next couple of days…

      Reply

  2. Kat @ a dash of fairydust
    Sep 08, 2012 @ 11:25:25

    Oooh,I am absolutely in love with nut butter,it’s my passion,so I am super excited about this review! I’d love to try this brand somewhen,when I have enough mone for ordering it online (it’s not sold in Germany,sadly)… Especially since I’ve never had coconut butter yet!

    Reply

    • veggiedancer
      Sep 08, 2012 @ 12:54:10

      Haha, I love nut butter as well:) You could always request some samples to review, if you are dying to try it–I know that their products can be expensive. And I am sure you would LOVE the coconut butter, but be warned: it could easily become an expensive addiction:D

      Reply

      • Kat @ a dash of fairydust
        Sep 10, 2012 @ 10:43:36

        The problem is that I live in Germany… Not sure if they would pay so much for shipping,you know? :(

      • veggiedancer
        Sep 10, 2012 @ 12:50:18

        @ Kat: I see; that could be a problem…I wasn’t charged any shipping costs, but maybe that is because I live in the U.S. Maybe you could email them and ask??

  3. KatsHealthCorner
    Sep 08, 2012 @ 13:01:35

    Those all sound SO delicious! I am an absolute nut butter LOVER! I’m pretty jealous of your little stash you got to review. ;) I’m so glad you enjoyed playing around with them and trying new things out! :)

    Reply

  4. Emma @ Barefoot Baker
    Sep 08, 2012 @ 20:36:10

    Yum these all sound so delicious! How did you get them to send the samples to you?? I want to do that! haha

    Reply

  5. Trackback: MIMM–One Year of Blogging | veggiedancer

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

