The “Breakfast Debate.”


“Breakfast is the most important meal of the day!” Chances are, you have heard this phrase far too many times to count–whether uttered by your mom, dad, teacher, friend, family member, or a smooth-talking cereal advertiser on TV. Personally, I DO believe that eating breakfast is important, for both your mental and physical health. But at the same time, I can understand why some people choose to skip it. Sometimes people say they “aren’t hungry in the morning” or “don’t have time to eat breakfast.” My theory behind the first claim is this: perhaps such people tend to eat the bulk of their food late at night, thus meaning they aren’t ready for another meal in the morning. Unfortunately, for some people, eating a large amount of food before going to bed can make it difficult to sleep well. As for the time excuse–well, I don’t think it is a very logical one:D After all, it only takes about 5 minutes to make a bowl of oatmeal or toast a whole-wheat bagel. And if you prepare food the night before, it could take an even shorter period of time! While I am not trying to force my love of breakfast upon anyone, I do have some delicious breakfast recipes that I have found on numerous blogs. Here are some of them…

This recipe for steel cut oats is fantastic, and can be easily customized to please your taste buds:) Yes, steel cut oats DO take longer to cook than rolled oats, but you can make this recipe ahead of time and reheat the oats in the morning. Here is a picture of the steel cuts oats I usually cook with.

This banana bread, which I have linked to before, makes an amazing breakfast, especially when crumbled on top of oatmeal or spread with almond butter.

These energy bars also make a great “on-the-go-don’t-have-time-to-cook-anything” breakfast. And if you pair them with fruit, they can make a fairly balanced meal.

This naturally sweetened cake is also great when crumbled and mixed in with a bowl of oatmeal. I love the fact that it is rich and chocolate-y without being excessively sweet. Or you could simply eat it as-is, perhaps spread with peanut butter, almond butter, walnut butter, etc…

These are just a few suggestions of the hundreds of delicious, nutritious, and (sometimes) easy to prepare breakfast recipes out there. Try several different ones and find out what you like best. And there are absolutely no “rules” dictating what you “should” eat in the morning–if you feel like eating savory oatmeal with avocado, veggies, and hummus, no one is stopping you!! Just because it isn’t a “classic America” breakfast doesn’t mean it isn’t less nutritious or tasty.

And here is the way I usually prepare my oatmeal, before adding any toppings:

Half a cup of rolled oats

Half a tablespoon of cinnamon (Yes, I LOVE cinnamon:)

1 to 1 and a half cups of water or milk (nondairy or regular)

Combine all ingredients in a medium saucepan. Bring to a boil, then reduce heat to low and simmer until desired texture is reached (about 3-5 minutes). Then add any desired “extras:” Almond or peanut butter, a crumbled muffin or slice of banana bread, chopped fruit, chopped nuts, some sort of sweetener, etc…

I hope everyone gets the chance to try out some of these recipes; have a great Wednesday! Tomorrow I have my dress rehearsal for my summer workshop ballet performance, and then the show is Sunday! I am so excited, but I can’t BELIEVE how fast my summer ballet classes have gone by…At least I have Nutcracker season to look forward to:) The Nutcracker is one of my favorite ballets, and I love performing in it. It will be rather busy for me, between dancing 5 days a week, starting my college classes, and teaching a few classes at my dance studio, but I enjoy staying busy–so it will all work out (I hope!).

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. KatsHealthCorner
    Aug 10, 2012 @ 00:21:36

    Awwwwwweeeee!!! I’m so glad that you enjoy my chocolate date cake!!!!!!! <3 It is definitely one of my favorites. Haha. I would probably pair it with my pumpkin soft serve ice cream for "cake and ice cream" for breakfast. ;)

    Reply

  2. veggiedancer
    Aug 10, 2012 @ 00:31:08

    Well, that is probably the healthiest way to have “cake and ice cream” for breakfast!! And yes, I adore the chocolate date cake; thank you SO much for introducing me to it:)

    Reply

  3. Kailey
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 00:56:27

    I agree that breakfast is super important!! I notice i get out of my “mental” fog as soon as I start eating :)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

