Pick your favorite!


Inspired by this post, I decided to do a sort of “pick your favorite” questionnaire, where I list two different things, and then explain which one is my favorite–and why:) Feel free to answer any/all of them!!

Cow Milk or non-dairy milk?

Non-dairy milk, for sure:) I don’t really like the taste of “regular” milk, so I usually use either soy or almond milk. For baking, I normally use vanilla soy milk, and for savory recipes I prefer unsweetened almond milk. Chocolate soy milk is also AMAZING to drink!!

Hummus or guacamole? 

This is a tough one, but I would have to say hummus. Maybe because it comes in so many varieties–roasted red pepper, garlic, sun-dried tomato, etc…Guacamole is awesome, but I don’t crave it as often as I do hummus!

Oatmeal or cereal?

Definitely oatmeal. And I don’t mean those meager packets of instant Quaker oatmeal (though absolutely NO offense to those who enjoy them!), I am referring to homemade oatmeal made with either rolled or steel cut oats. Cooked with cinnamon and banana, and topped with almond butter, oatmeal is probably my favorite breakfast. Here is a picture of the oats I use, though sometimes I use steel cut oats instead.

Tofu or tempeh? 

Though I use both meat substitutes frequently, tempeh is probably my favorite of the two. It has more texture than tofu, and makes great “bacon” when marinated in liquid smoke, sea salt, apple cider vinegar, and a few other spices, as in this recipe (the first one, “Tempeh bacon shitake jalapeno stuffing.”)

Cooking or baking? 

I definitely do more cooking than baking, though I know the two terms can be used somewhat interchangeably. I prefer cooking because it is easier to improvise and be flexible with ingredients, cooking time, etc…Baking tends to be more of a science–for example just an extra teaspoon of salt could drastically change a muffin recipe. Still, I suppose that once you have done enough baking, it becomes easier to experiment without worrying too much about burning down the kitchen:)

Carrots or celery? 

Carrots! Celery is one of the few vegetables I dislike and rarely eat. It is just too stringy and bland for my taste, though I do occasionally enjoy it with peanut butter:) I absolutely love carrots, though, whether cooked, raw, dipped in hummus, or shredded into salad. So far, I have found that Earthbound Organic carrots tend to be very sweet and delicious, whereas other non-organic carrots can be quite bitter. And bitter carrots are not great to eat raw–though cooking them leaches some of the bitterness out. 

Coffee or tea? 

I have actually only tasted coffee a few times in my life, and I wasn’t crazy about the taste, so I would say tea. I love drinking tea in the winter, though I usually stick with decaffeinated versions. So far, I haven’t had to rely on caffeine to fuel me through the day, though that may change when I start community college this fall…

Brown rice or quinoa?

Though both grains are delicious, I would prefer to eat brown rice. Quinoa is nice and light, with impressive nutritional data (it is a complete protein and a good source of fiber), but when I want some sort of grain, I usually lean toward the starchier, more hearty-tasting brown rice. Still, I love both, and use them frequently in my cooking. Also, quinoa cooks much faster than brown rice, which is an added bonus! Here are pictures of the quinoa and brown rice currently at my house…

White potatoes or sweet potatoes?

Sweet potatoes! Baked sweet potaotes, sweet potato fries, sweet potato chili, sweet potato falafel–I am always discovering new ways to prepare these amazing veggies:) Though I do love regular potatoes (especially when made into homemade baked potato fries), I love sweet potatoes even more–plus, a plain baked sweet potato is, in my opinion, much tastier than a plain baked white potato. 

Grapes or cherries? 

Definitely cherries, though they–unfortunately–are only in season during the summer. Here is an almost-empty bag of cherries; I may or may not have been responsible for devouring at least half of them:) And if you are looking for a good recipe to use up cherries, this is an amazingly delicious one!

 

Chips or crackers? 

Probably chips, though the two terms can be used interchangeably sometimes. Some of my favorite chips include Popchips, potato chips, sweet potato chips, Eat Your Veggies brand chips, lentil chips, and many more. Here are some chips we bought from Costco recently–they are also delicious.

 

Cooking shows or cooking blogs? 

Cooking blogs, by a long shot. Though I do occasionally enjoy watching Chopped or Iron Chef, I often find that cooking TV shows contain far too much drama and not enough information about the actual food the chefs are cooking. I would much rather read cooking blogs, from which I have gained so much culinary inspiration, recipe ideas, and handy cooking tips. 

I hope everyone enjoys answering these random questions:)

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. KatsHealthCorner
    Aug 10, 2012 @ 00:36:43

    I love oatmeal, sweet potatoes, both celery and carrots, cherries and grapes, non-dairy milk (especially vanilla soy milk and unsweetened vanilla almond milk), and hummus AND guac. :D I’m also much more a baker than a cook — it’s one of the things I just love to do. Especially cake decorating. I don’t really care to eat cake (my chocolate date cake and protein cakes are the exceptions though ;)), but I love to decorate them! :)

    Reply

  2. veggiedancer
    Aug 10, 2012 @ 01:41:07

    I love baking as well, especially for my siblings and parents:) Though some of the desserts I make for them are a bit too sweet for my taste, I still enjoy making them! And cake decorating sounds like SO much fun; I need to try it out sometime:)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

