Cocoa-cinnamon pancakes


So, I know that many bloggers participate in the “What I Ate Wednesday” party; I may take part in that next week, but today I am definitely not prepared with enough pictures of my meals, so instead I will be discussing pancakes:) Here is a single-serving pancake recipe I created–it is very simple and can be altered according to your dietary needs, preferences, tastes, etc…

One-fourth to one-third a cup of flour (flour can be tricky to measure sometimes, so the exact amount probably differs each time I make it. Also, you can use any type of flour–whole wheat, all purpose, gluten free, etc…I normally use chickpea flour, which sounds strange, but I actually love the beany, savory taste it gives the pancakes–though not everyone does:)

2 tablespoons of cocoa powder

Half a tablespoon of cinnamon

About one-eighth a teaspoon of baking soda (you could probably use more if you want very puffy pancakes)

One-fourth to one-third a cup of water or milk (nondairy or regular–the exact amount will  depend on how much flour you use and how thick you want your pancakes to be)

Sweetener, if desired (I prefer my pancakes unsweetened, but you could use 1-2 tablespoons of sugar, agave nectar, honey, maple syrup, etc…)

Whisk dry ingredients together in a metal bowl

Then add wet ingredients and stir until combined. Heat a frying pan (coated with nonstick spray) over medium heat. Drop spoonfuls of the batter onto the pan, spreading out slightly (I usually make three pancakes)

Cook for about 2-3 three minutes, then flip and cook for 2-3 more minutes until pancakes are firm and puffy.

I usually top my pancakes with this recipe, except using a ratio of 1 banana to one-third a cup of almond butter. Here are my completed pancakes:

The banana almond butter makes these pancakes about 1,000 times better:)

Now, on to dinner, which I created using up whatever I could find in the fridge and pantry (though I had made the rice that morning–I like to plan ahead at least SOMEWHAT:)

Sauteed onions, garlic, and carrots…

 

Some mushrooms added to the mixture…

 

Then the black beans…

 

Spices (cumin, chili powder, and nutritional yeast)…

 

Salsa…

 

And, finally, brown rice!

 

I apologize for the blurry and very unprofessional photos; this is why I will never be a food photographer! I hope everyone has had a great Wednesday:)

One Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Artisana Product Review « veggiedancer

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 47 other followers

